Governor turns down 2 names for KU Doctorate

Last Updated: Sun, Feb 10, 2013 21:00 hrs

In a bid to save Karnatak University of major embarrassment, governor H R Bharadwaj who is also the chancellor of the Universities has turned down the Karnatak University’s proposal to confer honorary doctorate degrees on cine producer Anand Appugol and social activist R N Naik.

The governor who examined the proposal in detail finally approved the names of chief minister Jagadish Shettar, Union Minister for Labour and Employment Mallikarjun Kharge, actor turned politician Ambareesh and library scientist Krishna Shripadrao Deshpande.The University had sent the names of Anand Appugol claiming that he was being considered for the honour for his contribution in the field of cooperation and R N Naik of Ankola for his social service. The 63rd annual convocation will be held on Friday Hameed Ansari will be the chief guest.

However there was hue and cry over the varsity’s decision to confer honorary doctorate on Appugol. Syndicate member K S Jayant while opposing the inclusion of politicians in the list had alleged that

Appugol was facing criminal charges for misappropriation of funds in co-operative credit society and had urged the governor not to approve his name.

The 63rd annual convocation will be held on Friday at 11 AM. Vice-President of India Hameed Ansari will be the chief guest.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar who is among those to be honoured with the doctorate has said he would not attend the convocation as he would be busy with the legislature session. It is not clear whether he would accept the honorary doctorate in absentia.

Union Minister Mallikarjun Kharge is also said to be apprehensive about receiving the honour in person following the controversy over selection of candidates for the honorary degree.

Sources in the University said actor Ambareesh, Mallikarjun Kharge and K S Deshpande would be present at the convocation as vice president of India was gracing the occasion.

This is the second time that the names sent by the University for conferring honorary doctorate degrees are being rejected by the governor. The procedure is the names are scrutinized by a Syndicate sub-committee and placed before the academic council for its approval. After that the Syndicate would approve the list and send it to the governor for his final approval.

More from Sify: