Deep Joshi named as new IRMA chief

Last Updated: Fri, Oct 26, 2012 19:10 hrs

With former union minister of Government of India, YK Alagh's second term as chairman of the Institute of Rural Management, Anand (IRMA) set to end next month, Magsaysay awardee and member of National Advisory Council (NAC) Deep Joshi has been appointed for the post.

According to an official communique of the institute, Joshi has been appointed as the next IRMA chairman after recommendations of a three member search committee comprising of Mihir Shah, member, Planning Commission, Government of India, Hasmukh Shah, former chairman, Gujarat Ecology Commission, and Sudarshan Iyengar, Vice Chancellor, Gujarat Vidyapeeth.

Joshi, who won the Ramon Magsaysay Award, 2009 for his pioneering work for the development of rural communities, is the co-founder of the non-government organisation Professional Assistance for Development Action (PRADAN).

Verghese Kurien was the founder Chairman of IRMA from December 14, 1979 to June 8, 2006, while Amrita Patel, chairperson of National Dairy Development Board (NDDB) was the chairman from June 9, 2006 to November 28, 2006 when Alagh took over.

Joshi is also Chair of the National Foundation of India.

More from Sify: