Gogoi sworned in as the CM for the third consecutive term

Last Updated: Wed, May 18, 2011 20:03 hrs

Tarun Gogoi was today sworn-in as the chief minister of Assam for the third consecutive term by Governor JB Patnaik at a function held at the Raj Bhavan.  Gogoi was yesterday unanimously chosen as the leader of Congress legislature party in the presence of Union finance minister Pranab Mukherjee, thus paving the way for him to claim the coveted post.

However, Gogoi chose to take the oath alone as the list of council of ministers has not yet been finalised.  

Gogoi, who was born on April 1, 1936, at Rangajan tea estate in Jorhat district of Upper Assam, first became the chief minister of the state in 2001; by defeating the Prafulla Kumar Mahanta led Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) government.  He became the chief minister for the second time in 2006, when the Congress formed the government with support of Bodoland People’s Front (BPF). In 2011, putting to rest every speculation, the Congress party stormed back to power with a thumping mandate, winning 78 seats in the 126 member assembly. 

More from Sify: