Kejriwal gets support in fight against bills

Last Updated: Fri, Mar 29, 2013 20:40 hrs

A number of eminent citizens have expressed support to Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal's civil disobedience movement questioning the accuracy of water and electricity bills in Delhi.

According to a statement by the party, former Supreme Court judge Krishna Iyer, former Navy chiefs L Ramdas and R H Tahiliani, former chief election commissioner J M Lyngdoh, former vice-chair of the National Knowledge Commission P M Bhargava, former Madhya Pradesh chief secretary S C Behar, former Atomic Energy Regulatory Board chairman A K Gopalakrishnan, former power secretary E A S Sarma and People's Movement against Nuclear Energy leaders Binayak Sen and S P Udayakumar have said they support Kejriwal's movement.

The statement added Jawaharlal Nehru University professor emeritus Amit Bhaduri, former Greenpeace chairperson Lalita Ramdas, former Indian ambassador Madhu Bhaduri, People's Science Institute Director Ravi Chopra, activists Prafulla Samantray and Kamal Jaswal had also expressed solidarity with Kejriwal, as well as the people of Delhi.

More from Sify: