Kolkata to have three satellite towns

Kolkata to have three satellite towns

Last Updated: Tue, Nov 06, 2012 13:50 hrs

Kolkata, Nov 6 (IANS) Kolkata Metropolitan Development Authority (KMDA) has identified three locations for its proposed satellite township project on the outskirts of the city, a government official said Tuesday.

KMDA is the statutory planning and development authority for the Kolkata Metropolitan Area (KMA).

KMDA chief executive officer Vivek Bharadwaj said land has been identified for the proposed satellite townships at Baruipur (South 24 Parganas), Chandannagar (Hooghly) and Barrackpore (North 24 Parganas).

The projects are scheduled to be completed by 2025.

"While work has already started at the Baruipur project, KMDA is awaiting the West Bengal government's approval for Barrackpore and Chandannagar projects," Bharadwaj told a media conference here.

Meanwhile, state Urban Development Minister Firhad Hakim said he would meet bankers in London to invite investments at the proposed financial hub for foreign banks at Rajarhat in the eastern fringes of Kolkata.

Hakim said he would be accompanied by representatives of the state Urban Development Department to London Nov 15 for an "informal meeting with bankers".

More from Sify: