Nine metro stations to stay shut today

Last Updated: Mon, Dec 24, 2012 05:30 hrs

New Delhi, Dec 24 (IANS) Delhi Metro Rail Corporation, in a statement Monday, said nine metro stations would remain closed Monday, after protests in central Delhi turned violent Sunday.

Entry and exit of commuters at metro stations in Pragati Maidan, Mandi House, Barakhamba Road, Rajiv Chowk, Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhavan, Race Course, and Khan Market, will not be allowed, till further notice, the statement said.

However, interchange will be allowed at Rajiv Chowk and Central Secretariat.

The decision to shut down metro stations Sunday created chaos, and buses were plying at full capacity. On Sunday, all the major metro stations and major roads leading to Rashtrapati Bhavan and India Gate were blocked.

Barricades were placed at Parliament Street, Rajpath and Vijay Chowk, in the heart of the capital where the protestors had been converging over the past week.

Raisina Hill, where the hihg-security Rashtrapati Bhavan is located, saw massive protests Saturday and Sunday as thousands of furious and determined youngsters marched towards the official residence of the president.

The protestors, many of them students in school or college, raised slogans and demanded justice for the 23-year-old woman who was brutally gang-raped last week and now battles for life in a hospital here.

Police resorted to caning and threw tear gas shells to disperse the crowd. Many were also drenched as water cannons were used in the winter chill.

More from Sify: