sify sports
Home Astrology Business Classifieds Mobile Movies Samachar Shopping Sports Videos
Sify Home > Khel> ICC World Cup
Print Print Mail Mail

Who will be the new chief?

By Moviebuzz
Sunday, 11 June , 2006, 12:18

Elections to Nadigar Sangam, the office of South Indian Artists Association are round the corner. Vijaykanth has been the chief for the last two years but this time, he does not want to contest as he is on to bigger things.

Both Karunandhi and Jayalalithaa are keen that somebody who tows their line takes over as new Nadigar Sangam chief. In Tamilnadu, the support of film stars is crucial for any political party to have a mass reach.

Karunanidhi initially wanted Napoleon to be the chief but the actor could not not win the Mylapore seat which went against him and also the fact that he is not popular with the artists community. Remember that it is not only the stars but small artists who have done insipid or characters roles call the shots.

There are 2143 artists who have voting rights in Nadigar Sangam. S.V.Shekhar of AIADMK wants the post but his party feels that the guy who has done a few films in the past just does not have the capacity to mobilize votes. As of now Sarath Kumar is a favourite though one can’t rule out old timer Radha Ravi.

The DMK does not mind Satyaraj though he is not keen as his career is booming and he is also doing the role of ‘Periyar’ EV Ramaswamy Naickar. Karthik has also thrown in his towel if he gets the support of DMK which is unlikely.

The latest we hear is that Prabhu may become a compromise candidate as he is close to Karunanidhi and has no issues with Jayalalithaa. Prabhu himself is not too keen but may end up as the new Nadigar Sangam Chief!

The views expressed in the article are the author's and not of

  More Headlines

World Cup Headlines : World Cup Interviews | World Cup Match Schedule | Wish India | India at the Cup
World Cup Past Finals : World Cup Final 1975 | World Cup Final 1979 | World Cup Final 1983 | World Cup Final 1987 | World Cup Final 1992 | World Cup Final 1996 | World Cup Final 1999 | World Cup Final 2003
World Cup Squad : India | Australia | New Zealand | Sri Lanka | South Africa | Pakistan | West Indies | England | Bangladesh | Zimbabwe | Kenya | Canada | Ireland | Netherlands | Scotland | Bermuda
World Cup Stats : World Cup Top Batsman and Bowlers | World Cup Top wicket takers | Team Records | Most Matches | Most wickets | Fastest century | Most runs getters | Fastest fifty | World Cup finals
World Cup Venues : Barbados | St Lucia | Jamaica | St Vincent | Grenada | Guyana | Antigua | Trinidad | St. Kitts

© Copyright Sify Ltd, 1998-2006. All rights reserved. India News Portal, hosted at SifyHosting India's first Level 3 Internet Data Centre.
Site optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 and above.
See Disclaimer | Privacy Policy & Parental Guidance on pornography | Careers@sify | About Us | Feedback | Advertise with us | Site Map