World Cup Squads | World Cup Squad | World Cup Teams | World Cup Team | World Cup Players
sify sports
Home Astrology Business Classifieds Mobile Movies Samachar Shopping Sports Videos
India at the Cup | 1975 final | 2003 final | Team Records | Most Matches | Barbados | Interviews | Fastest fifty | India team |
Sify Home > Khel> ICC World Cup
Print Print Mail Mail
Three batsmen - Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and skipper Rahul Dravid - each with over 10,000 ODI runs to their name and two spinners - Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh - with 504 wickets between them. The numbers certainly stack up well for Dravid's men.
Meet the fifteenread more
The defending champions have the two most prolific ODI batsmen of 2007 in Matthew Hayden (606 at 55.09) and Ricky Ponting (445 at 74.16) in their ranks. Ponting, Glenn McGrath and Adam Gilchrist are also on the cusp of becoming the first players to win three consecutive World Cups.
Meet the fifteenread more
New Zealand
The return of a rejuvenated Shane Bond and a 3-0 whitewash of Australia, during which they chased down 300-plus totals with gay abandon, has led to Stephen Fleming's men emerging as serious World Cup contenders.
Meet the fifteenread more
Sri Lanka
With Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumara Sangakkara and Sanath Jayasuriya in their ranks, the men from the Emerald Isles are a confident lot. No wonder, they are the legendary Wasim Akram's favourites for the title.
Meet the fifteenread more
South Africa
South Africa has had its share of near-misses at the World Cup. In 1992, a controversial rain rule scuppered their impressive run. Seven years later, it was a horrendous mix-up involving Allan Donald and Lance Klusener with only a run needed that denied them a shot at glory. Will 2007 bring better luck to the World's No 1 ODI team?
Meet the fifteenread more
It is the last World Cup for skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq, who first shot to prominence at the 1992 edition of the event. Whether Inzy can do an Imran and inspire his mercurial side to another famous win remains to be seen.
Meet the fifteenread more
West Indies
Brian Lara's last World Cup and the first at home for the first-ever winners of the coveted trophy. Cricketing legends Garry Sobers, Viv Richards and Courtney Walsh are among the many who are fancying the hosts' chances.
Meet the fifteenread more
Until the fag end of the Commonwealth Bank Series, England were dismissed as no-hopers and with good reason too. But then came three consecutive wins over Australia and now they arrive at the West Indies a band of believers.
Meet the fifteenread more
Habibul Bashar (captain), Shahriar Nafees, Tamim Iqbal, Aftab Ahmed, Sakib-al-Hasan, Mohammad Ashraful, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafee-bin-Murtaza, Tapash Baishya, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Russel, Rajin Saleh, Javed Omar.
Prosper Utseya (captain), Gary Brent, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Keith Dabengwa, Terry Duffin, Anthony Ireland, Friday Kasteni, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Christopher Mpofu, Tawanda Mupariwa, Edward Rainsford, Vusumuzi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams.
Steve Tikolo (captain), Thomas Odoyo, Rajesh Bhudia, Jimmy Kamande, Tanmay Mishra, Collins Obuya, David Obuya, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Peter Ongondo, Lameck Onyango, Maurice Ouma, Malhar Patel, Ravi Shah, Tony Suji. Hiren Varaiya.
John Davison (captain), Ashish Bagai, Ian Billcliff, Geoff Barnett, Kevin Sandher, Umar Bhatti, Desmond Chumney, George Codrington, Austin Codrington, Andy Cummins, Sunil Dhaniram, Asif Mulla, Henry Osinde, Abdool Samad, Qaiser Ali.
Trent Johnston (captain), Kyle McCallan, Andre Botha, Jeremy Bray, Kenny Carroll, Peter Gillespie, Dave Langford-Smith, John Mooney, Paul Mooney, Eoin Morgan, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, William Porterfield, Boyd Rankin, Andrew White.
Luuk van Troost (captain), Bas Zuiderent, Adeel Raja, Peter Borren, Tim de Leede, Mark Jonkman, Alexei Kervezee, Mohammad Kashif, Darron Reekers, Edgar Schiferli, Jeroen Smits, Billy Stelling, Eric Szwarczynski, Ryan ten Doeschate, Daan van Bunge.
Craig Wright (captain), John Blain, Dougie Brown, Gavin Hamilton, Majid Haq, Paul Hoffmann, Douglas Lockhart, Ross Lyons, Neil McCallum, Dewald Nel, Navdeep Poonia, Glenn Rogers, Colin Smith, Ryan Watson, Fraser Watts.
Irving Romaine (captain), Dean Minors, Delyone Borden, Lionel Cann, David Hemp, Kevin Hurdle, Malachi Jones, Stefan Kelly, Dwayne Leverock, Saleem Mukuddem, Stephen Outerbridge, Oliver Pitcher, Clay Smith, Janeiro Tucker, Kwame Tucker.
World Cup Headlines : World Cup Interviews | World Cup Match Schedule | Wish India | India @ Wc
World Cup Past Finals : World Cup 1975| World Cup Final 1979 | World Cup Final 1983 | World Cup Final 1987 | World Cup Final 1992 | World Cup Final 1996 | World Cup Final 1999 | World Cup Final 2003
World Cup Squad : India | Australia | New Zealand | Sri Lanka | South Africa | Pakistan | West Indies | England | Bangladesh | Zimbabwe | Kenya | Canada | Ireland | Netherlands | Scotland | Bermuda
World Cup Rewards : World Cup Top Batsman and Bowlers | World Cup Top wicket takers | Team Records| Most Matches | Most wickets | Fastest century | Most runs getters | Fastest fifty | World Cup finals
World Cup Venues : Barbados | St Lucia | Jamaica | St Vincent | Grenada | Guyana | Antigua | Trinidad | St. Kitts
Home | Shopping | Samachar | Sifymax | MumbaiLive | Bangalorelive
© Copyright Sify Ltd, 1998-2006. All rights reserved. India News Portal, hosted at SifyHosting India's first Level 3 Internet Data Centre.
Site optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 and above.
See Disclaimer | Privacy Policy & Parental Guidance on pornography | Careers@sify | About Us | Feedback | Advertise | Site Map