Hat trick for Ramanarayanan and team

Last Updated: Tue, Jul 13, 2010 05:26 hrs

It was a fantastic win for Ramanarayanan and his team in elections for Tamil Film Producers Council (TFPC), for third time in a row. The team gets to govern TFPC for another two years, 2010 to 2012.

The ever smiling Ramanarayanan who has done a lot for the industry in the last two years won the Presidents post with 428 votes, a clear lead of 281 votes over his rival K.Rajagopal (KRG) who managed to poll only 147 votes.

Producers SA Chandrasekhar (391 votes) and Anbalaya Prabhakaran (432 votes) were re-elected Vice-Presidents. K Muralidharan (350 votes) and Sivasakthi Pandian (360 votes) were also re-elected as General Secretaries. Khaja Moideen (398 votes) was also elected for another term as Treasurer.

Among the opposition candidates only producer PL Thenappan could give an impressive fight when he polled 291 votes in a stiff fight for the Vice-President’s post but lost out.

More from Sify: