Honour for film personalities on Uttam Kumar's death anniversary

Last Updated: Tue, Jul 23, 2013 11:10 hrs

Kolkata, July 23 (IANS) The West Bengal government will honour 50 Bengali film personalities on the occasion of the 33rd death anniversary of matinee idol Uttam Kumar Wednesday.

Actors Madhabi Mukhopadhyay, Ranjit Mullick, Dipankar Dey and Sandhya Roy, and filmmaker Gautam Ghosh would be presented the lifetime achievement award for their contribution to Bengali cinema.

Actors Chinmoy Roy and Partha Mukherjee, and directors Sandip Roy, Kaushik Ganguly, Sujit Guha, Srijit Mukherjee and Raj Chakraborty would be presented special awards.

The Mahanayak Samman, 2013, will be awarded to leading actors Tapas Pal and Prosenjit Chatterjee.

Other actors who have been selected for special awards include Saswata Chatterjee and Parambrata Chatterjee.

Film producing companies R.D. Bansal and Company, Shree Venkatesh Films, New Theatres and Arora Films will also be feted at the function.

More from Sify: