Non-bailable warrant issued against Suriya, Sathyaraj, Sarath and five others

Last Updated: Wed, May 24, 2017 09:06 hrs

In 2009, Nadigar Sangam had protested against a derogatory article published by a leading Tamil daily on actresses.

M Rozario, a freelance journalist in Ooty had filed a case against eight actors including Suriya, Sathyaraj, Sarathkumar, Arun Vijay, Vijayakumar, Vivek, Cheran and Sri Priya for degrading journalists.

According to Rozario, the actors should have only talked about the particular daily and not the entire journalist community.

In 2011, summon was issued to all these eight actors but they filed a petition in Madras High Court requesting to relieve from appearing personally in the court. But their petition was dismissed and when the case came to hearing in a judicial magistrate court in Ooty, Magistrate Senthilkumar Rajavel issued a non-bailable warrant against the eight actors on Tuesday (May 23, 2017).

Following this issue, Suriya fans have created a hashtag #WeSupportSuriya to support their matinee-idol.

More from Sify: