Social media comes in support of the protesting National award winners

Last Updated: Fri, May 04, 2018 11:45 hrs
National award

The National film awards ceremony was noted this year for all the wrong reasons, as all Malayali winners except singer Dr. K J Yesudas and director Jayaraj decided not to accept the awards from Union minister Smriti Irani. 

The demand of the award winners was that they have to receive it from the President of India, which has always been the tradition. However, it was made clear by the government that only 11 awards will be given by the President of India.

Even though there were efforts to pacify the winners, they all protested in one voice. Dr. K J Yesudas and director Jayaraj signed the protest letter that was handed over to the Union government, but later they changed their plans.

The social media has whole heartedly supported the bold decision of the National award winners and there is severe criticism pouring against Yesudas and Jayaraj in the social media platforms.

More from Sify: