State awards announced

Last Updated: Wed, Jan 05, 2005 10:30 hrs

Shivrajkumar (Chiguridha Kanasu) and Radhika (Thayi Illadha Thabbali) have won the Best Actor and Best actress respectively.

Veteran director Pattabhirama Reddy who brought in new wave art cinema in early 70’s bagged the prestigious Puttanna Kanagal Award. Producer Janakiram got the Dr.Rajkumar award. Both the awards carry a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh each and Chamundeswari Studio got the life time service award of Rs.50000.

The state film awards committee headed by P.H.Vishwanath also announced the awards for other categories are

Best Film is “Chiguridha Kanasu”, directed by T.S.Nagabharana. Second Best Film is “Shanthi” directed by Baraguru Ramachandrappa, Third Best Film is “Chandra Chakori” directed by S.Narayan. Socially relevant film award goes to “Pravaha”.

Supporting actor is Ranganaya Raghu for “Mani”, Umasri is the Best supporting actress for “Mani”, Best story goes to Kari Subbu for “Mani”, Best Screenplay is for “Preethi Prema Pranaya”, Best Dialogue writer is Jayanth Kaikaini for “Chiguridha Kanasu”, Best Cameraman is P.K.H.Das for “Chandra Chakori”, Best Music Director is V.Manohar for “Chiguridha Kanasu”, Editor is Kemparaj for “Lankesh Patrike”.

Best Child Artist is Master Varsha in “Amaasa”, Art Director is Hosmane Murthy for “Chandra Chakori”, Best Lyrist is Kalyan for “Preethi Prema Pranaya”, Best Male Playback singer is Pichahalli Srinivas for “Amaasa”, Best Female Playback singer is Nandhita for “Preethi Prema Pranaya” and this is her third consecutive year of winning the prestigious award.

More from Sify: