Tamilnadu state awards (2007, 2008) announced!

Last Updated: Wed, Sep 30, 2009 03:39 hrs

The living legends of Tamil cinema Rajnikanth and Kamal Haasan won the Tamil Government's Best Actor awards for 2007 for Sivaji and 2008 Dasavatharam respectively.

Rajnikanth's Sivaji The Boss swept the awards for 2007 with a tally of six awards, closely followed by Mozhi, which bagged four awards. Dasavathaaram bagged four awards for 2008, including best actor and best film.

Celebrity couple Suriya and Jothika won an award each, in the Best Actor: Special Prize for 2008 (Vaaranam Aayiram) and Best Actress for Mozhi for 2007 categories. The Best Actress Award for the year 2008 was bagged by Sneha for her performance in Pirivom Sandhippom.

The best dialogue writer award for the year 2008 was given to Chief Minister M.Karunanidhi for his work Uliyin Osai, while the best short story award went to Tamilselvan for Poo. Former judge of the Madras High Court, Justice AK Rajan, headed the awards committee.

2007 Awards

Best Actor- Rajinikanth- Sivaji

Best Actress- Jyothika- Mozhi
Best Film- 1st- Sivaji, 2nd — Mozhi , 3rd- Pallikoodam
Best Director- Thankar Bachchan
Best Supporting Actor- MS Bhaskar, Mozhi
Best Supporting Actress- Archana- Onbathu Roopa Note
Best Music Composer Vidyasagar- Mozhi
Best Family Film- Thoovanam

Special Prizes

Best Film- Periyar
Best Actor- Sathyaraj- Onbathu Roopa Note
Best Actress- Padmapriya- Mirugam
Best Film Portraying Women in Good Light- Mirugam

2008 Awards

Best Actor- Kamal Hassan- Dasavatharam
Best Actress- Sneha- Pirivom Sandhippom
Best Film- 1st Dasavatharam, 2nd — Abhiyum Naanum , 3rd- Santhosh Subramaniam
Best Director- Radha Mohan- Abhiyum Naanum
Best Supporting Actor- Prakash Raj-Abhiyum Naanum
Best Supporting Actress- Pooja-Naan Kaduvul
Best Music Composer- Ilayaraja-Ajantha
Best Family Film- Vallamai Tharayo

Special Prizes

Best Film- Meiporul
Best Actor- Suriya-Vaaranam Aayiram
Best Actress- Trisha-Abhiyum Naanum
Best Film Portraying Women in Good Light- Poo