TFPC – Bitter internal squabbles

Last Updated: Wed, Feb 06, 2013 06:22 hrs

The august body of film producers, Tamil Film Producers Council (TFPC) is riven with factions and bleeding due to bitter internal feuds. The tussle to control TFPC between the elected SA Chandrasekhar and rival group led by KR, has crippled the producers council.

The present office bearers were elected in the elections held in October 2011, for a two year term.  The KR group held a extraordinary general body meeting (EGM) on October 28 2012, without the participation of the official SAC group. Few days later SAC group got a stay order, which was subsequently vacated by Madras HC.

Now last Saturday the TFPC official group led by SAC has moved the Supreme Court challenging an order of Madras High Court rejecting its plea against a lower court order permitting counting of votes polled at EGM, by the ad hoc committee.

 The petitioner producer PL Thennappan moved the court through his counsel A Radhakrishnan seeking an injunction to restrain the election officials concerned from opening the ballot box till the matter was heard. According to Thenappan, he and other 26 Executive Committee Members were elected in the elections held in October 2011 for a two-year period and they assumed office.

On Tuesday (Feb 5), SA Chandrasekhar held a press conference at the TFPC office.  He said that he was elected for a period of two years. A general body meeting of TFPC would be announced shortly, as court cases are going on.
Meanwhile KR group has approached the Police seeking action against present president SA Chandrasekhar, who had “lost a no-confidence motion in TFPC but was not willing to step down.”


More from Sify: