'Twilight' finale ranks 8th highest-grossing debut in US with $141.3M

Last Updated: Mon, Nov 19, 2012 07:10 hrs

'The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2' has been ranked eighth on the list of all-time domestic debuts.

According to studio estimates Sunday, the 'Twilight' finale has grossed 141.3 million dollars domestically over opening weekend and 199.6 million dollars more overseas for a worldwide debut of 340.9 dollars million, the New York Post reported.

The new entry leaves "Twilight" with three of the top-10 openings, joining 2009's "New Moon" (No. 7 with 142.8 million dollars) and last year's "Breaking Dawn - Part 1" (No. 9 with 138.1 million dollars).

Last May's "The Avengers" is No. 1 with 207.4 million dollars. "Batman" is the only other franchise with more than one top-10 opening: July's "The Dark Knight Rises" (No. 3 with 160.9 million dollars) and 2008's "The Dark Knight" (No. 4 with 158.4 million dollars).

The finale of the series also drew the biggest male crowds.

"Our male audience particularly has enjoyed this film," said Richie Fay, head of distribution for Lionsgate, whose Summit Entertainment banner releases the "Twilight" movies.

Some box-office watchers had expected the last "Twilight" movie to open with a franchise record the way the "Harry Potter" finale did last year with 169.2 million dollars, the second-best domestic debut on the charts.

"I thought that for the final installment, it might eclipse the franchise record, but to look at 141.3 million dollars and say that's a disappointment, that's kind of crazy," said Paul Dergarabedian, an analyst for box-office tracker Hollywood.com.

In the weekend box office, the "Twilight" finale took over the No. 1 spot from Sony's James Bond adventure "Skyfall," which slipped to second place with 41.5 million dollars domestically in its second weekend.

Steven Spielberg and Daniel Day-Lewis' Civil War drama "Lincoln" expanded nationwide after a week in limited release and came in at No. 3 with 21 million dollars.

Top ten movies in this weekend are -

1. "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2," $141.3 million ($199.6 million international).

2. 'Skyfall,' 41.5 million dollars (49.6 million dollars international)

3. 'Lincoln,' 21 million dollars

4. 'Wreck-It Ralph,' 18.3 million dollars (4.8 million dollars international)

5. 'Flight,' 8.6 million dollars (1 million dollars international)

6. 'Argo,' 4.1 million dollars

7. 'Taken 2,' 2.1 million dollars (2 million dollars international)

8. 'Pitch Perfect,' 1.3 million dollars (4.1 million dollars international)

9. 'Here Comes the Boom,' 1.2 million dollars.

10 (tie). 'Cloud Atlas,' 900,000 dollars.

10 (tie). 'Hotel Transylvania,' 900,000 dollars.

10 (tie). 'The Sessions,' 900,000 dollars. (ANI)

More from Sify: