ZNMD, Rockstar dominate IIFA awards

Last Updated: Sun, Jun 10, 2012 05:42 hrs

Zoya Akhtar's Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara and Imtiaz Ali's Rockstar triumphed at the 13th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards Saturday, with each winning four trophies.

ZNMD won the awards for best film, best story, best actor in supporting role for Farhan Akhtar and best director for Zoya. Rockstar won the best actor in the leading role for Ranbir, best music direction for A.R. Rahman, best lyrics for the song and best playback singer male for Mohit Chauhan for Nadaan Parindey.

Ranbir, who played the role of an aspiring singer, beat actors such as Amitabh Bachchan, Salman Khan, Shah Rukh Khan and Hrithik Roshan, to walk away with the trophy.

On the other hand, actress Vidya Balan continued her winning streak by picking up the award for best actress in a leading role for The Dirty Picture. She emerged victorious among Priyanka Chopra, Kareena Kapoor, Mahie Gill and Kangna Ranaut.

The award for best playback singer female went to Shreya Ghoshal for her song Teri Meri from the film Bodyguard.

Parineeti Chopra was in for a surprise and couldn't control her tears when she won two awards for best debut female and best actress in a supporting role female for Ladies v/s Ricky Bahl.

Actor Vidyut Jamwal walked away with the award for best debut male for his performance in Force.

Prakash Raj won the IIFA award for best performance in a negative role for Singham. He was nominated alongside Naseeruddin Shah for The Dirty Picture, Irrfan Khan for 7 Khoon Maaf, Boman Irani for Don 2 and Vidyut Jamwal for Force.

The award for best performance in comic role went to Riteish Deshmukh for the film Double Dhamaal.

While hosts Shahid Kapoor and Farhan Akhtar kept audience in splits with their wit and humour, the show saw star-studded performances by Sonakshi Sinha, Bipasha Basu, Prabhu Deva, Priyanka Chopra, Shahid, Rishi and Ranbir Kapoor.

Filmmaker Ramesh Sippy was honoured at the gala for his outstanding contribution to Indian cinema, while veteran actress Zohra Segal received a special award for her contribution to 100 years of Indian cinema. However, the latter couldn't make it to the event.

Veteran actress Rekha was honoured for her outstanding achievement in Indian cinema, while Norwegian actress Liv Ullmann was given an award for her contribution to international cinema.

Though this year's IIFA awards had its own appeal, the actors who were missed by all included Hrithik Roshan, Shah Rukh Khan, Salman Khan, John Abraham, Saif Ali Khan, Anil Kapoor, Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif, and Sonam Kapoor.

More from Sify: