11 ministers of LDF govt get re-elected, 3 lose

Last Updated: Fri, May 13, 2011 11:21 hrs

Kochi: The LDF, which lost power to Congress-led UDF in Kerala by a wafer-thin majority, saw outgoing Chief Minister V S Achuthanandan and 11 of his cabinet colleagues getting re-elected while three fell by the wayside.

The ministers who emerged victorious are: Kodiyeri Balakrishnan (Home and Tourism) from Thalassery; M A Baby (Education) from Kundara; Thomas Issac (Finance)from Alapuzha; Elamaram Kareem (Industries) from Beypore; A K Balan (Power) from Tarur;

Other ministers who won were Jose Thettayil (Transport) from Angamally; P K Gurudasan (Labour and Excise) from Kollam; C Divakaran (Animal Husbandary and Civil Supplies) from Karunagapally; G Sudhakaran (Cooperation) Ambalapuzha; Mullakara Ratnakaran (Agriculture) from Chadayamangalam; S Sharma (Fisheries) from Vypeen.

The losers are: N K Premachandran (Water Resources Minister) from Chavara; Ramachandran Kadannappalli (Devaswom) from Kannur and V Surendran Pillai (Harbour Minister) Thiruvananthapuram.

Kerala's 'N' factor - Oommen Chandy has it too!

K Radhakrishnan, Speaker, was elected from Chelakkara reserved constituency.

Five ministers did not contest-- Paloli Mohamed Kutty (Local Self Government); M Vijaykumar (Law, Sports); K P Rajendran (Revenue); P K Sreemathi (Health) and Binoy Viswam (Forest).

UDF won 72 seats and LDF 68 in the closest poll battle in three decades.

More from Sify: