345 candidates to contest Meghalaya polls

Last Updated: Sun, Feb 10, 2013 07:40 hrs

A total of 345 candidates are in the fray for the 60 seats of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, elections for which are set to be held on Feb 23.

"Earlier, a total of 355 candidates of different political parties had filed their nominations, but four nominations were rejected by the election commission after scrutiny and six candidates withdraw their nominations," an official of state election commission said.

From the 345 candidates, 320 candidates are male and 25 female, in which 122 are independents.

Congress has fielded in all 60 assembly seats.

Besides Congress, United Democratic Party (UDP) has fielded 50 seats, National People's Party (NPP) in 32, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in 21, Hill State People´s Democratic Party (HSPDP) in 17, BJP in 13, Samajwadi Party (SP) in 11, National Council (GNC) in 6, Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) and Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP) in 4 each, Meghalaya Democratic Party (MDP) in 2, Communist Party of India (CPI), North East Social Democratic Party (NESDP) and Rashtriya Secular Congress (RSC) in 1 assembly seat each.

A total of 14,90,015 electorates of Meghalaya will exercise their franchise on February 23.

(Reporting by Hemanta Kumar Nath)

More from Sify: