6 Delhi Metro stations to remain open

Last Updated: Sun, Aug 26, 2012 07:04 hrs

All the six Delhi Metro stations that were earlier announced to remain shut on Sunday due to a protest by anti-corruption crusader Arvind Kejriwal will remain open throughout the day, an official said.

The stations in central Delhi will remain open, said reports after the police detained the activists on Sunday.

The Delhi Police have revised their advisory, reports said.

Earlier, authorities had announced that six metro stations in central Delhi would remain closed between 8 am and 6 pm due to an agitation by Kejriwal to gherao the residences of Prime Minister and opposition leader of BJP.

Anti-corruption crusader Arvind Kejriwal and his followers were detained for about an hour on Sunday morning when they tried to go ahead with their planned protest outside the residence of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh without police permission.

The group led by Kejriwal also wanted to protest outside the residence of Sonia Gandhi and opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Nitin Gadkari.

Police have beefed up security around the residences of the PM, Gandhi and Gadkari.

Kejriwal was given permission to hold his protest programme at Jantar Mantar venue in the national capital.

Kejriwal said while he was held back as a threat to peace, the real threat to peace in the country is Congress and BJP and corruption.

The Delhi Police on Saturday had denied permission to disbanded Team Anna member Arvind Kejriwal´s gherao protest in New Delhi scheduled for Sunday.

The coal report of the Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) has pointed finger at the loss-making coal block allocations when the portfolio was held by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

The report said 25 private companies received benefits of around Rs 1.86 lakh crore through of coal block allocations in various states.

More from Sify: