BJP confident of completing full term in Karnataka

Last Updated: Wed, Jan 30, 2013 14:10 hrs

Despite being reduced to wafer thin majority following a barrage of resignations, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Government in Karnataka on Wednesday assured of completing its full term.

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister K.S. Eshwarappa today reassured that his party would complete a full term.

"We are confident that no more legislators will resign and the BJP government under the leadership of Jagdish Shettar will complete full term," said Eshwarappa.

Meanwhile, former legislator B.P. Harish said all 13 of the resigned legislators would formally join Karnataka Janata Party on Thursday.

"Thirteen legislators resigned from the legislative assembly. Today we are going to send resignation letter to BJP and tomorrow morning; all 13 former legislators will join Karnataka Janata Party in the leadership of our leader B.S. Yeddyurappa," said Harish.

Senior KJP leader Venur Dhananjay Kumar Alva commenting on the latest political developments in the state said that leaders from BJP are willing to join KJP and in this process if the government loses majority, then they would not be responsible for it.

"Actual, the intention of KJP (Karnataka Janata Party) is very clear, we have started deciding on the future candidates that is why knowingly some of the sitting members of the present assembly belonging especially to BJP, they want to come and identify themselves with KJP. On the other hand, they owe elegance to the leadership of B.S. Yeddyurappa, we have asked such people to take an early decision," he said.

Alva further said the BJP Government in Karnataka would fall by January end.

"We will get good numbers and I would like to remind you that I have been telling that by the end of this month, this government would not survive," he added.

Thirteen MLAs, who are loyal to Karnataka Janata Party chief and former BJP strongman B.S. Yeddyurappa, met assembly speaker KG Bopahiah here yesterday and formally submitted their resignations.

After yesterday's exodus, the BJP is left with 106 members in the Karnataka Assembly. If that number falls below 105, the government will be in a minority.

The Congress has 71 MLAs and the JD (S) has 26 MLAs in the assembly. (ANI)

More from Sify: