Confusion over two Rajya Sabha TDP MPs' vote on FDI

Last Updated: Fri, Dec 07, 2012 14:30 hrs

New Delhi, Dec 7 (IANS) Confusion prevailed over two Telugu Desam Party (TDP) MPs voting for the motion against foreign direct investment (FDI) in multi-brand retail in the Rajya Sabha Friday.

"We have voted for the motion, which was moved by V. Maitreyan. We have been opposing the government's decision to allow FDI in multi-brand retail and we stick to it," TDP member C.M. Ramesh told IANS.

He also said along with him, another TDP member, Nandamuri Harikrishna also voted for the motion.

However, soon after the voting in the upper house, Rajeev Shukla, minister of state for parliamentary affairs told reporters: "Two TDP MPs voted against the motion."

Out of five TDP MPs, three - Devender Goud, T. Gundu Sudharani and Y.S. Chowdhary - were absent for the voting.

A few hours after the voting, the government sought a recalculation of votes as these exceeded the strength of the house.

The request was made to the Rajya Sabha secretariat by Shukla and this was accepted.

More from Sify: