Five of ten Delhi Metro stations reopen

Last Updated: Sun, Dec 30, 2012 08:46 hrs

New Delhi: Five out of ten Delhi Metro stations that had remained shut since Saturday were opened Sunday afternoon, a DMRC official said.

"Five metro stations -- Pragati Maidan, Mandi House, Rajiv Chowk, Barakhamba Road and Patel Chowk -- were opened at 1.10 p.m. Five other metro stations -- Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Jor Bagh, Khan Market and Race Course -- remain closed," the official said.

Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) shut ten stations at 7.40 a.m. Saturday fearing mass protests following the death of the Delhi gang-rape victim in Singapore.

However, inter-change services continued at Rajiv Chowk and Central Secretariat stations.

"Metro trains were halting at Rajiv Chowk and Central Secretariat to enable passengers switch trains," the official said.

Delhi Metro, the city's lifeline, ferries nearly 1.8 million passengers over 2,700 trips daily.

More from Sify: