Karnataka crisis: 13 MLAs submit resignations to assembly speaker

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 29, 2013 11:20 hrs

Thirteen MLAs, who are loyal to Karnataka Janata Party chief and former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) strongman B.S. Yeddyurappa, met assembly speaker KG Bopahiah here on Tuesday and formally submitted their resignations.

The BJP earlier on Monday submitted a petition to the assembly speaker seeking the disqualification of 13 MLAs on the charge of participation in 'anti-political' activities.

"These MLAs, they voluntarily resigned from the Bharatiya Janata Party. Their conduct, their behaviour, the way they have been bearing in the public clearly shows they have voluntarily resigned from the BJP. Any person who resigns voluntarily from the party has to be disqualified, stands for the rules of disqualification," said BJP MLA Sarvabhouma Bagli.

"On this ground, we have already filed a petition before the honourable Speaker and we have not actually handed over the copies to the Speaker; the petitions have been given to the Secretary, he is the authority to receive our petitions. Our request is we have filed first a petition, it is the duty and obligation of the honourable Speaker to first make an order on or present and then look into the resignations," he added.

This move of the BJP came after the MLAs announced their decision to quit their assembly membership.

The BJP's strength in the assembly is 120, including the Speaker, an Independent and a nominated member.

The Karnataka BJP is confident that resignation by 10 rebel MLAs will not affect the government, and is hoping that its strength doesn't slip below 106. The Congress has 71 MLAs and the JD (S) has 26 MLAs in the assembly. (ANI)

More from Sify: