Payton, Hardaway among finalists for Basketball Hall of Fame

Last Updated: Sat, Feb 16, 2013 13:00 hrs

Houston, Feb 16 (IANS) The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame have announced an elite list of players and coaches to be considered for election in 2013 during the NBA All-Star Weekend.

The 12-member list includes six first-time finalists: five-time NBA All-Star Tim Hardaway, three-time National Coach of the Year Sylvia Hatchell, two-time NBA Championship coach Tom Heinsohn, nine-time NBA All-Star Gary Payton, five-time WNBA All-Star Dawn Staley and six-time NBA All-Star Mitch Richmond, reports Xinhua.

Former NBA players Maurice Cheeks, Spencer Haywood, Bernard King, NCAA Final Four coaches Guy Lewis, Rick Pitino and Jerry Tarkanian are also on the list released Friday.

"We are proud to share an incredible group of finalists for the Class of 2013 - a distinct list of coaches and players who excelled at many levels of basketball," Jerry Colangelo, chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Governors, said.

"It will be a difficult decision for the Honours Committee to select the final class members from this prestigious group of individuals, each of whom has given so much to the game."

The Class of 2013 will be unveiled at the NCAA Final Four in April.

More from Sify: