Virbhadra resigns from Lok Sabha

Last Updated: Thu, Jan 03, 2013 15:00 hrs

Shimla, Jan 3 (IANS) Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh Thursday resigned as member of the Lok Sabha.

Party sources told IANS that he has sent his resignation to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

Virbhadra Singh, who was elected from Mandi in the 2009 general elections, contested the assembly elections from the Shimla (Rural) constituency in November last year and won with a record margin.

He took oath as chief minister Dec 25 for a record sixth term.

He is an eight-time legislator and five-time MP.

A few days ago he resigned from the post of Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee president.

More from Sify: