AAP releases party manifesto, promises Jan Lokpal in 15 days

Last Updated: Wed, Nov 20, 2013 11:44 hrs

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party today came out with its manifesto for the December 4 Delhi polls, promising to enact Jan Lokpal Bill in 15 days if voted to power.

AAP manifesto 'Sankalp Patra' also promises introduction of 'Swaraj' (self rule) to decentralise power in the national capital.

To woo Sikh community, the party also says to provide justice to 1984 anti-Sikh riot victims. In addition to several sops, AAP assures to end fake encounters and false cases against Muslim youths.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led party promises to bring in the Jan Lokpal, or an anti-corruption ombudsman, within 15 days by calling an open session of Delhi Assembly on December 29.

"This Delhi Jan Lokpal Bill would cover all the officials and employees of Delhi Government, from the Chief Minister to MLAs. Under this law, it would be mandatory for everyone to declare their asset. The Lokpal would have full autonomy. Administrative, financial and functional independence and powers to take action public servants," said Yogendra Yadav, head of AAP's manifesto committee, while releasing it.

Those found guilty of corruption would be sacked, sent to jail and their property would be confiscated, he added.

The AAP, which is offering itself as an alternative to both the Congress and the BJP in the elections, also promised devolution of power to the people by setting up Mohalla Sabha which would decide about the development work to be carried out, take care of sanitation, issue death and birth certificate and monitor local government school and primary health centres among others.

Kejriwal's party, which had been attacking Delhi government over increase in electricity bills, promised to bring it down by 50 per cent by ordering an audit of accounts of distribution companies (Discoms).

"If anyone refused, their licences would be cancelled, inflated bills would be rectified, electricity metres would be checked by independent agencies," Yadav said, who was flanked by other party members including Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Sanjay Singh, Prashan Bhushan and Kumar Vishwas.

More from Sify: