AIADMK sacks nine more TTV Dhinakaran supporters from party

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 02, 2018 13:34 hrs
TTV Dhinakaran

Chennai: The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) continued its crackdown on the rebel TTV Dhinakaran camp by sacking his nine supporters on Tuesday.

Stung by the bypoll defeat, the ruling AIADMK removed nine party supporters of Dhinakaran, who recently took oath as MLA from RK Nagar constituency.

Earlier,  it dismissed 44 supporters of the sidelined leader from the party and also removed two persons from their posts.

In a statement issued, party Coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam and Joint Coordinator and Chief Minister K. Palaniswami had announced the decision.

According to the statement, the dismissal of the members was done for their actions against the party's interests and discipline.

Dhinakaran had recently secured a vigorous win in R K Nagar bypoll by defeating its candidate E Madhusudhanan by a margin of over 40,000 votes.

The RK Nagar constituency went to polls on December 21, necessitated by the death of former Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa in December last year.

Dhinakaran, sidelined by the ruling camp (EPS-OPS) a few months ago, contested the election as an independent candidate on a 'pressure cooker' symbol.

More from Sify: