Alagiri denied DMK ticket, may launch new party

Last Updated: Mon, Mar 10, 2014 11:42 hrs

Chennai: DMK supremo M Karunanidhi on Monday renominated former telecom minister and 2G scam accused A Raja for the April 24 Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu while sent a strong message to rebels in the party by denying a ticket to his son MK Alagiri.

TV reports in the evening claimed that Alagiri may launch a new party soon.

Another former telecom minister and also an accused in the 2G scam, Dayanidhi Maran, too was renominated by the party chief.

Raja (Nilagiri-SC) and Maran (Central Chennai) have been allotted the same constituencies they represent in the current Lok Sabha.

DMK in its list of 35 candidates released here, including for the lone seat in Puducherry, rejected renomination to 10 sitting MPs and favoured only eight, including TR Baalu to seek re-election.

Karunanidhi while releasing the list at a hurriedly convened press conference, said five seats have been allocated to its allies VCK, IUML, MMK and PT.

The party not only denied ticket to Madurai constituency MP and its strongman in southern parts Alagiri, whom it suspended from DMK in January for acts of indiscipline, but also to his supporters, D Napolean (Perambalur) and J K Rithieesh (Ramanathapuram).

Baalu who represented Sriperumbudur Lok Sabha seat has been shifted to Thanjavur. TKS Elangovan will contest from South Chennai instead of North Chennai, the seat he currently holds.

Answering queries from reporters, Karunanidhi stoutly defended fielding of Raja and Maran, saying "charges against them are weak".

Evading a direct reply to Alagiri's reported remarks that he was in touch with his supporters to float a new party, and that he may take a decision in a month or two about it, the DMK patriarch shot back saying, "This (press conference) is intended to announce the DMK candidates list. Please do not ask hurting questions".

He announced V Veluchamy for Madurai, presently being represented by Alagiri.

Flanked by his son Stalin and daughter Kanimozhi, besides DMK general secretary K Anbazhagan among others, Karunanidhi said the list was subject to change, seen as an indication that some more allies could join his party-led Democratic Progressive Alliance (DPA).

He however said no parleys had been held with the two Left parties, CPI-M and CPI, who had walked out of AIADMK alliance last week, miffed over the Jayalalithaa-led party's approach towards seat-sharing talks.

Asked if his party would set a time-frame for the Left to consider joining DPA, he said a 'democratic and straight forward' party like his DMK cannot set terms in this regard.

Tamil Nadu has 39 Lok Sabha seats. When reporters sought to know if Congress could join DPA, he said he had only come across media reports in this regard.

Following is the list of candidates announced by DMK for the April 14 Lok Sabha polls:

1 Chennai North - R Girirajan

2 Chennai South - TKS Elangovan

3 Central Chennai - Dayanidhi Maran

4 Sriperumbudur - S Jegathrakshakan

5 Kanchipuram (SC) - G Selvam

6 Arakkonam - NR Elango

7 Krishnagiri - P Chinna Pillappa

8 Dharmapuri - R Thamarai Selvan

9 Tiruvannamalai - CN Annadurai

10 Arani - R Sivanandam

11 Villupuram (SC) - Dr K Muthayan,

12 Kallakurichi - R Manimaran

13 Salem - S Umarani

14 Namakkal - S Gandhiselvan

15 Erode - H Pavitra Valli

16 Tiruppur - Dr S Senthilnathan

17 Nilgiri (SC) - A Raja BSc

18 Coimbatore - K Ganeshkumar

19 Pollachi - N Palanisamy

20 Dindugul - S Gandhirajan

21 Karur - M Chinnusamy

22 Tiruchirappally - NMU Anbazhagan

23 Perambalur - S Prabu

24 Cuddalore - Dr K Nandagopalakrishnan

25 Nagapattinam (SC) - AKS Vijayan

26 Thanjavur - TR Baalu

27 Sivagangai - S Durairaj

28 Madurai - V Velusamy

29 Theni - Pon Muthuramalingam

30 Virudhunagar - S Rethinavelu

31 Ramanathapuram - S Mohamed Jaleel

32 Tuticorin - P Jegan

33 Tirunelveli - C Devadasa Sundaram

34 Kanyakumari - FM Rajarathinam

35 Puducherry - AMH Nazeem

More from Sify: