Andhra Pradesh: No-confidence motion admitted

Last Updated: Wed, Oct 30, 2013 11:32 hrs


The no-confidence motion moved by the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) against the ruling Congress government in the state was admitted  by  Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly, Nadendla Manohar, on Friday.

With 17 MLAs belonging to the YSR Congress party also supporting, a total of 45 legislators in the 294-member House have backed the no-trust motion when it was moved for consideration of the House today morning.

The no-trust notice issued by TRS  on Thursday was signed by 21 MLAs, including those belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party, Communist Party of India and the Telangana Nagara Samithi.

After admitting the motion, the Speaker adjourned the House and convened a Business Advisory Committee (BAC) meeting to decide the modalities for debate and voting.  

However, the TRS move is likely to have little impact on the government with the Telugu Desam Party, the main Opposition party in the state, deciding against supporting the no-trust motion and issuing a whip to its members to stay neutral at the time of voting.

More from Sify: