Bangalore hand Mumbai Indians their second loss

Last Updated: Sat, Apr 19, 2014 14:30 hrs

Dubai, April 19 (IANS) Royal Challengers Bangalore recorded their second consecutive win with a seven-wicket win over defending champions Mumbai Indians in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium here Saturday.

Some tight bowling by the Bangalore bowlers helped restrict Mumbai Indians to 115 for nine in 20 overs.

After a brief stutter early on in the innings when Royal Challengers lost three wickets in succession, AB de Villiers (42 not out) and Parthiv Patel (45 not out) added 80 runs for the fourth wicket to guide the team to 116 for three in 18 overs.

Lasith Malinga in customary fashion removed Nic Maddinson (12) with a toe-crushing yorker. Indian pacer Zaheer Khan then removed Virat Kohli (0) and Yuvraj Singh (0) in the same over to put Bangalore under tremendous pressure.

However, Parthiv and de Villiers batted patiently to inch towards the target and in the end brought out the big shots to hand Mumbai Indians their successive losses this season.

Earlier, put into bat, Mumbai Indians were lucky not to lose Michael Hussey (16) in the very first over of the match. The veteran Australian batsman spooned an easy catch to Yuzvendra Chahal at point who grassed the easy chance.

His opening partner Aditya Tare (17) was also give a reprieve in the very next over with Maddinson dropping a sitter at first slip.

Fortunately for Bangalore, both players failed to cash in and were dismissed soon enough.

At 52 for two after seven overs, Mumbai were still in a strong position. However, some shocking batting by the middle-order saw them being reduced to 101 for seven in 17.2 overs.

Ambati Rayudu (35) was the only batsman to make any noteworthy contribution. Such was the dismal performance that only four batsmen, including Rayudu, managed to get into double figures.

Mitchell Starc, Varun Aaron and Yuzvendra Chahal picked up two wickets apiece while Albie Morkel and Ashok Dinda chipped in with a wicket each.

This was also Bangalore's 50th win in the IPL, becoming only the fourth team to do so after Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Rajashthan Royals.

Brief Scores:

Mumbai Indians: 115 for nine in 20 overs (Ambati Rayudu 35, Corey Anderson 18; Mitchell Starc 2-21, Varun Aaron 2-30)

Royal Challengers: 116 for three in 17.3 overs (Parthiv Patel 57 not out, AB de Villiers 45; Zaheer Khan 2-21, Lasith Malinga 1-29)

More from Sify: