Bangalore hoping to win Louis Philippe Cup

Last Updated: Tue, Jan 08, 2013 14:40 hrs

Bangalore, Jan 8 (IANS) Puravankara Bangalore's challenge at this year's Louis Philippe Cup will be spearheaded by city lad Anirban Lahiri, Delhi golfer PGTI ranked 10 Manav Jaini and 2012 PGTI Players Championship winner Omprakash Chouhan.

The trio is set to compete against eight other city teams at the Greg Norman-designed Jaypee Greens at Greater Noida from Feb 11 to 16.

Fresh from a successful year on the tour, Lahiri is all set to represent the Puravankara Bangalore team for a second time. The inaugural edition saw Lahiri turn in brilliant performance in the strokeplay format to guide the team to the semi-finals where he beat on-fire Anura Rohana from Take Chennai to guide his team into the finals.

The year 2012 saw Lahiri also make his debut at the prestigious British Open where he hit a historic hole-in-one at the ninth on day three of the Open at the Royal Lytham and St. Annes, England and finished 31st in his debut grand slam event.

Teammate Manav Jaini who is also continuing to play for Team Purankara Bangalore had earlier finished third at 2012 BILT Open, fourth at 2012 Mcleod Russel Tour Championship earning him the 10th spot on the PGTI Order of Merit.

In their second outing for the Puravankara Bangalore team, as Lahiri and Jaini look to deliver on the fans' expectations, as they will be joined by Chouhan who finished 2012 ranked No.7 on the PGTI Order of Merit.

With an in-form Lahiri, Jaini and Chouhan in their ranks, Puravankara Bangalore will be looking to improve upon their performance at the inaugural edition of the Louis Philippe Cup, where they finished runners-up.

Following the strokeplay on the first two days of the tournament in February, the four teams with the best total pro team scores over 36 holes will advance to the knockout semifinals which will be played in the match play format with one-on-one matches between the three players of each team.

The finals will see the top two teams battle for the trophy and winner's purse of Rs.36 lakh while the runner-up finishes with Rs.24 lakh. The losing semifinalists will battle for third place and a prize purse of Rs.18 lakh.

The event will see nine city-teams - AVT Kolkata, Take Solutions Chennai, Puravankara Bangalore, DLF Gurgaon, Dev Ellora Chandigarh, Shubhkamna Noida, Navratna Ahmedabad and Jaypee Greens Greater Noida and Delhi team battle it out for a total prize money of Rs.1.2 crores.

Conceptualised by Rishi Narain Golf Management, the Louis Philippe Cup has received sanction from the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) for three years as the exclusive professional team golf tournament in India.

Star Indian players who have confirmed their participation at the Louis Philippe Cup include 2012 Scottish Open Champion Jeev Milkha Singh (Shubhkamna Noida), former Asian Tour No.1 Jyoti Randhawa (DLF Gurgaon) and winner of the 2011 Singapore Classic Himmat Rai (Delhi).

Gaganjeet Bhullar, fresh from his exploits at the Asian Tour where he won the 2012 Macau Open and Yeangder Tournament Player Championship, will represent the home team Jaypee Greens, Greater Noida team.

With all of India's top stars set to take the field at golf's premier event, Noida is set to witness intense competition for the top spot.

More from Sify: