Batra to head hockey's high performance committee

Last Updated: Mon, Apr 08, 2013 14:20 hrs

New Delhi, April 8 (IANS) Hockey India (HI) secretary general Narinder Batra will be heading the 15-member high performance and development committee while high performance director Roelant Oltmans will be its vice-chairman.

The committee has Ajit Pal Singh (captain of the 1975 World Cup-winning team), Balbir Singh (Olympian and national selector), Dilip Tirkey (former captain and member Rajya Sabha), Sukhvir Singh Grewal, Thoiba Singh, Mukesh Kumar, R.P. Singh, Surinder Kaur, Saba Anjum, Michael Nobbs (chief coach), Neil Hawgood (chief women's coach) and Gregg Clark (junior national men's coach) as its members.

Elena Norman, CEO, Hockey India will be the convenor while Sports Authority of India (SAI) will be the invitee members of this committee.

This committee will work on the high performance and development of hockey at grassroot level in the country. The committee will prepare the blueprint for training and ensure that the same pattern of coaching is followed in the country at all levels.

Since the appointment of Dutch legend Oltmans as director, high performance it was a necessary step to form this committee so as to ensure that the game of hockey progresses in the country at all levels.

The committee will meet quarterly to discuss the progress and share new ideas.

More from Sify: