BCCI Awards: Sachin, Laxman to be honoured

Last Updated: Wed, Oct 31, 2012 18:37 hrs

Mumbai, Oct 31 (IBNS) The Annual BCCI Awards Ceremony will be held on Nov 21 in Mumbai where Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman will be felicitated.

India's top performers in international and domestic cricket during the twelve-month period from 1 October 2011 to 30 September 2012 will be feted at the ceremony.

Virat Kohli will be presented the Polly Umrigar Award, for being India's top international cricketer of 2011-12. The award comprises a trophy and cheque for `. 5 lakhs.

The previous winners of the award are Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07 and 2009-10), Virender Sehwag (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09) and Rahul Dravid (2010-11).

VVS Laxman, who announced his retirement from international cricket in August 2012, will be felicitated at the ceremony. Sachin Tendulkar will also be honoured for completing a century of international centuries.

Another feature of the ceremony will be the posthumous felicitation of seven legends of Indian cricket - Vijay Merchant, Vijay Manjrekar, Dattu Phadkar, Vinoo Mankad, Ghulam Ahmed, M.L. Jaisimha and Dilip Sardesai.

The next-of-kin of each of these individuals will receive a trophy and cheque for `. 15 lakhs.

The Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Sunil Gavaskar, former India captain. The award comprises a trophy, citation and cheque for `. 25 lakhs.

The previous winners of the award are as follows:

1994 - Lala Amarnath
1995 - Syed Mushtaq Ali
1996 - Capt. Vijay Hazare
1997 - K.N. Prabhu
1998 - P. R. Umrigar
1999 - Col. Hemachandra Adhikari
2000 - Subhash Gupte
2001 - Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi
2002 - Bhausaheb Nimbalkar
2003 - Chandrakant Borde
2004 - B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, S. Venkataraghvan
2007 - Nariman Contractor
2008 - Gundappa Viswanath
2009 - Mohinder Amarnath
2010 - Salim Durani
2011 - Ajit Wadekar

More from Sify: