BCCI revises Airtel series schedule

Last Updated: Mon, Jan 14, 2013 09:50 hrs

Mumbai, Jan 14 (IBNS) The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced that the match-schedule of the Airtel series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, to be played in February-March, has been revised.

"As per the new programme, the first game of the four-Test series between India and Australia will now be played at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, from 22 February 2013 to 26 February 2013," said BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale in a statement.

"The venue has staged some unforgettable encounters between the two nations, including the 'Tie' in September 1986," he said.

The teams will then move to Hyderabad for the second Test, from Mar 2 to 6. The action will subsequently shift to the north.

"Mohali will host the third Test from 14 March 2013 to 18 March, and Delhi the fourth, from 22 March 2013 to 26 March 2013. Delhi's Ferozeshah Kotla Ground was the venue where the teams first played for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, in October 1996," Jagdale said.

The revised schedule of the Test matches is as follows:


First Test - M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai - 22 February 2013 to 26 February 2013

Second Test - Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad - 2 March 2013 to 6 March 2013

Third Test - PCA Stadium, Mohali - 14 March 2013 to 18 March 2013

Fourth Test - Ferozeshah Kotla Ground, Delhi - 22 March 2013 to 26 March 2013

More from Sify: