Bihar bypolls: RJD wins Jehanabad, BJP gets Bhabua

Last Updated: Wed, Mar 14, 2018 16:56 hrs
Nitish Kumar

Patna: The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) today won the Jehanabad assembly seat bypoll. The seat had fallen vacant after death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav. RJD had fielded his son Uday Yadav is the seat who beat the JD(U) candidate by over 35,000 votes. Meanwhile, BJP's Rinky Rani Pandey has won the Bhabhua Assembly seat in Bihar. Results of Araria is still awaited where the saffron party is trailing behind RJD in Araria Lok Sabha seat.

According to latest data, RJD's Sarfaraz Alam, who had in the earlier rounds trailed behind BJP's Pradip Kumar Singh, was now leading by about 14,500 votes after ninth rounds of counting of votes. According to election office sources, a total of 28 rounds of counting will take place for results of Araria Lok Sabha seat bypoll necessitated due to demise of RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. Alam, who crossed over from JD(U) to Lalu Prasad's party RJD to contest the bypoll, is son of Taslimuddin.

More from Sify: