Biju Janata Dal avoids commenting on BJP's Team Modi for 2014

Last Updated: Sat, Jul 20, 2013 05:30 hrs

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Jay Panda on Saturday avoided commenting on the Bharatiya Janata Party's 20 star-studded committees for its election campaign under Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, saying it is an internal matter of the saffron outfit.

"The new team that has been formed in the BJP; all of them are known faces. I don't think so it is called for to make any comment about them. It is their internal matter," said Panda.

"It is the people of the country, who will ultimately decide as to whom they support and what philosophy do they support," he added.

With its agenda as good governance versus bad governance, the BJP yesterday announced the formation of 20 panels to focus on various aspects of electioneering for the 2014 Lok Sabha polls under Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi's leadership.

BJP leader Ananth Kumar, who announced the list of 20 campaign committees, said they will be steered under Modi's leadership.

Kumar said senior BJP leaders Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Lal Krishna Advani and party chief Rajnath Singh will oversee the functioning of central poll panel, which is headed by Narendra Modi.

Gopinath Munde and Ravi Shankar Prasad have been entrusted with the responsibility of preparing the chargesheet.

The electronic campaign, print media campaign will be looked after by Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Modi's aide Amit Shah and Sudhanshu Trivedi.

Murli Manohar Joshi will head the BJP's manifesto team for 2014, while former party chief Nitin Gadkari will be responsible for party's vision document.

Gadkari has also been given the special charge of overseeing Delhi assembly elections.

Late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan's daughter Poonam Mahajan, Navjot Singh Sidhu and Amit Shah have been included in a team, which has been given the responsibility of wooing the first-time voters. (ANI)

More from Sify: