BJP announces candidates for Gujarat elections

Last Updated: Fri, Nov 23, 2012 03:11 hrs

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced the names of its candidates for the Gujarat elections, retaining most of the legislators in the list of 84 hopefuls for the state assembly.

Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi will contest from Maninagar seat while Gujarat BJP unit Chief RC Faldu is the candidate from Jamnagar Rural.

There are ten women candidates in today's list while six candidates are from the Scheduled Caste category and 14 from Scheduled Tribes.

Elections for 87 of the total of 182 seats of Gujarat will be held on December 13.

The tickets for the polls were given by BJP President Nitin Gadkari based on the feedback provided by surveys commissioned by him, media reports said.

More from Sify: