BJP-led coalition stakes claim to form Goa government

Last Updated: Wed, Mar 07, 2012 21:45 hrs

Dona Paula: A 26-member Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition Wednesday staked claim to forming government in Goa, a day after a stunning verdict saw the party win majority in the 40-seat Goa legislative assembly.

Speaking to reporters at the Raj Bhavan at Dona Paula, a short distance from Panaji, Manohar Parrikar, who has been chosen as chief ministerial candidate by consensus, said they have requested Governor N. Sankaranarayanan to finalise Friday (March 9) evening for swearing-in of the chief minister and key members of the cabinet.

'I have staked claim to form the government. I was selected as the chief minister by the elected members of the BJP and the other members of the coalition, which includes 21 from the BJP, three from the MGP (Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party) and two independent candidates,' Parrikar said.

'We have requested the governor to fix 5 p.m. on March 9 for swearing in at the Campal parade grounds (in Panaji),' Parrikar said, doing away with the convention of swearing in ministers at the Raj Bhavan grounds.

Riding a massive anti-incumbency wave and an aggressive campaign against dynastic politics and graft, the BJP trounced the Congress in the March 3 polls.

The March 6 results unveiled a stunning mandate, with the BJP getting a simple majority of 21 seats while its alliance partner the MGP won three seats. The Congress won nine seats.

Goa Vikas Party, a regional outfit won two seats, while an unprecedented five Independent candidates emerged victorious.

More from Sify: