BJP's Team 2014 announced; Narendra Modi named

Last Updated: Sun, Mar 31, 2013 05:22 hrs

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has reinducted Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi in the party's Parliamentary Board. This is seen as a major boost to his prime ministerial ambitions.

BJP president Rajnath Singh, who met the party's patriarch LK Advani this morning ahead of the major announcement, named former Gujarat home minister Amit Shah, Varun Gandhi, Ram Lal, JP Nadda, Ananth Kumar, Dharmendra Pradhan, Muralidhar Rao, Rajiv Rudy, Tapir Gao as general secretaries of the party, Zee news reports.

Smriti Irani has been named BJP vice president.

With the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh or RSS mandating that the BJP rekindle a Hindutva agenda in these elections, the BJP's Gandhi, Varun, has been made general secretary. Former Finance Minister Yashwant Sinha was in the running for a key party role, but his chances were thwarted by his public tirade earlier this year as he attempted to scutlle the re-appointment of former party president Nitin Gadkari, states NDTV

More from Sify: