BJP's 'Team 2014'

Last Updated: Sun, Mar 31, 2013 12:31 hrs

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced it team for the general elections either in 2014 as scheduled or ahead in case the shaky Congress-led UPA government falls, bringing Narendra Modi, the polarizing politician of the NDA alliance it heads, on the forefront with his induction in the party's highest decision making body- Central Parliamentary Board.

Several Modi associates were also promoted and inducted in key posts indicating that influence of the Gujarat strongman in BJP now.

BJP president Rajnath Singh announced the National Office Bearers 2013 and its 12-member parliamentary board that inducted Modi as the only BJP chief minister also have people like Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Arun Jaitley, Murli Manohar Joshi and Nitin Gadkari.

However, no official announcement has been made about the role of Modi in the next elections.

The induction of Modi in the Board, which was on expected lines, put an end to speculations on pitching Modi as a key figure or even the prime ministerial candidate of BJP in the next polls.

The other members of the Parliamentary Board are: Rajnath Singh (President), Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Lal Krishna Advani, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi, M. Venkeya Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitely, Anant Kumar, Thawar Chand Gehlot and Ram Lal (G.S. Org.)

BJP also appointed some other leaders in key positions with Uma Bharati appointed as one of the vice presidents and Varun Gandhi as one of the general secretaries.

Modi's key aide Amit Shah, who was the Gujarat Home Minister earlier and had remained a figure of controversy, has been appointed as a general secretary too, indicating that wishes of Modi are being accommodated.

Smriti Irani, who is also considered close to Modi, has also been made a vice president.

BJP spokesperson Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi called it a perfect team and said every group- be it women or SC/ST or youth- got adequate representation.

"Now it is you to analyse but we have kept everything in mind in choosing the teams," said Naqvi.

After her elevation, Uma Bharati said she is grateful to Rajnath Singh for the faith in her and promised to live up to the expectations.

Congress reaction to the BJP announcement has been rather controlled.

Party spokesperson Rashid Alvi said it is every party's right to have its own team.

"The 2014 Lok Sabha polls are still far. Their first test is Karnataka," Alvi told reporters.

The National Office Bearers are the following:

President: Rajnath Singh.

Vice President: Sadananda Gauda, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dr C. P. Thakur, Jual Uram, S. S. Ahluwalia, Balbir Punj, Satpal Malik, Prabhat Jha, Uma Bharti, Bijyo Chakravarti, Lakxmikanta Chawla, Kiran Maheshwari, Smriti Irani.

General Secretaries: Ananth Kumar, Thawarchand Gehlot, J.P. Naddha, Dharmendra Pradhan, Tapir Gaon, Amit Shah, Varun Gandhi, Rajeev Pratap Rudy, Murlidhar Rao, Ramlal (GS Org.)

Joint General Secretaries (Org.): V. Satish, Soudan Singh.

Secretaries: Shyam Jaju, Bhupendra Yadav, Krishna Das, Anil Jain, Vinod Pandey, Trivendra Rawat, Rameshwar Chaurasiya, Aarti Mehra, Renu Kushwaha, Sudha Yadav, Sudha Malaiya, Poonam Mahajan, Luies Marandi, Dr. Tamil Isai, Vani Tripathi.

Treasurer: Piyush Goyal

Headquarter Incharge: O. P. Kohli

Office Sec. Parliyamentry Party: Dr. Ramkripal Sinha, Ex-MP
Parliamentary Party

Jt. Office Secretary: Shanmuknathan

Spokesperson: Prakash Jawdekar, Shaha Nawaj Hussain, Nirmla Sitaraman, Vijay Sonkar Shashtri, Dr. Sudhanshu Trivedi, Meenakshi Lekhi, Captain Abhimanyu.

President of Morchas: Mahila Morcha- Saroj Pandey, Yuva Morcha- Anurag Thakur, SC Morcha -Dr. Sanjay Paswan, ST Morcha- Faggan Singh Kulaste, Minority Morcha- Abdul Rashid, Kisan Morcha-Om Prakash Dhankar.

Central Parliamentery Board: Rajnath Singh (President), Atal Bihari Vajpayee,

Central Election Committee : Rajnath Singh (President), Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Lal Krishna Advani, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi, M. Venkeya Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitely, Narendra Modi, Anant Kumar, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Ram Lal (G.S. Org.), Gopinath Mundey, Jual Oran, Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, Vinay Katiyar, J.P. Nadda, Dr. Harshwardhan, Saroj Pandey (Ex-Officio).

Central Diciplinery Committee: Radha Mohan Singh (President), Jagdeesh Mukhi (Secretary), L.Ganeshan (Member), Hari Babu (Member), Shyam Nandan Singh (Member).

More from Sify: