'BJP will enter Tripura assembly after polls'

Last Updated: Sat, Feb 02, 2013 13:20 hrs

Agartala, Feb 2 (IANS) The BJP, which has so far failed to win a single Lok Sabha or assembly seat in Left-ruled Tripura, hopes to play a significant role in the Feb 14 assembly elections and enter the 60-member house for the first time, a party leader said Saturday.

"In the assembly elections, the BJP would be a major factor in 30 of the 60 assembly seats. In the previous assembly polls - Lok Sabha and other elections - the party secured a substantial percentage of votes," Tripura BJP chief Sudhindra Dasgupta told reporters here.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded 50 candidates, including four women, for the upcoming assembly polls in the state.

Of the total votes polled in the 2008 and 2003 Tripura assembly elections, the BJP secured 1.49 percent and 1.32 percent votes, respectively, Dasgupta said.

He also claimed that the Congress party's 'paribartan' (change) slogan is borrowed from the Trinamool Congress in West Bengal.

"The Congress is cheating the electorates by promising allowance to unemployed youths if voted to power. It is an immature plan," the BJP leader said.

BJP president Rajnath Singh, former party chief Nitin Gadkari, senior leaders L.K. Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan and actor-politician Hema Malini are among those expected to campaign for the party in the state.

More from Sify: