Campaigning ends for Karnataka assembly election

Last Updated: Fri, May 03, 2013 15:50 hrs

Campaigning for the Karnataka assembly election came to an end on Friday evening.

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the polling day on Sunday, with extensive security arrangements in the state. Over 1,35,000 security personnel will be deputed for the assembly election.

9954 polling booths have been identified as hyper sensitive, 14,209 booths sensitive and 149 booths as naxal prone. Extra protection will be provided to these booths.

The voting process will begin at 7 a.m. and conclude at 5 p.m.

The Congress and BJP has made a strong pitch for people's mandate in the high-stake elections in Karnataka.

Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi and former External Affairs Minister S.M. Krishna are some of the other prominent faces of the Congress Party who have campaigned in Karnataka.

Lal Krishna Advani and Narendra Modi have campaigned for the BJP in Karnataka in an effort that it is re-elected to power.

Elections would be held for 223 Assembly seats, after the one in Piriyapatna was postponed to 28th May following the death of the BJP candidate.

An estimated 2,900 candidates have entered the fray for the assembly polls in Karnataka.

Indian National Congress (INC) has fielded 224 candidates for the Karnataka polls, while the BJP has given tickets to 223 candidates this time.

Elections to Karnataka legislative assembly are to be held on May 5 and the counting of votes will be taken up on May 8. (ANI)

More from Sify: