Central Revenue Sports Meet from Jan 28

Last Updated: Wed, Jan 23, 2013 19:11 hrs

The two-day 45th All-India Central Revenue Sports Meet 2012-13 will be held at the Shiv-Chhatrapati Sports Complex at Mhalunge-Balewadi on Jan 28-29.

Sheila Sangwan, Member, Central Board of Excise and Customs, New Delhi will be the Chief Guest during the Opening Ceremony.

CMD of Bank of Maharashtra Narendra Singh, former world silver medalist long jumper Anju Bobby George and International Badminton player Nikhil Kanetkar, will be the guests of honour.

At the Closing Ceremony, V.K. Chowdary, Member, Central Board of Direct Taxes, New Delhi will be the Chief Guest.

Cricketer Chandu Borde, Olympian Swimmer Veerdhawal Khade and former Indian Kabaddi team captain Shantaram Jadhav, will be the guests of honour.

"There will be 16 sports disciplines wherein sportspersons from the Central Revenue Departments will contest for supremacy over two days," said Sanjeev Behari, Chief Commissioner and Chairman of the Organizing Committee addressing a press conference on Wednesday.

"There will be one team from each participating zone in six team sports. Basically the winning team of the respective zonal sports meet qualifies in the all-India meet," he said.

The competition will be conducted in 16 sports disciplines- Athletics, Contract Bridge, Chess, Carom, Badminton, Table Tennis, Body Building, Basketball, Volleyball, Football, Hockey, Tennis, Kabaddi, Swimming, Cricket and Billiards.

"This is a competition for teams from Income-Tax, Customs, Central Excise and Service Tax departments of the Central Government and over 900 players from these departments are going to participate in these games," Behari said.

The meet is an annual event organized by respective zones by rotation.

Last year, South Zone won the overall trophy garnering 231 points, while this year's host, the West Zone finished at the runner-up position with 199 points. East Zone (166) was third and North (88) was placed fourth.

In four individual events-Athletics, Swimming, Chess and Body Building-the top three finishers will get gold, silver and bronze medals respectively, while in other 12 events only gold and silver medal will be awarded.

As has been the tradition, the medal winners will also get a merit certificate, while the 'Best Athlete" amongst male and female as well as the overall Athletics champion team, will get respective trophies.

"In the team games-Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Kabaddi and Volleyball-the winner and runner-up teams will be awarded trophies for their achievements," Behari said.

The player with best physique will be titled Mr. Revenue and honoured with a trophy and a belt.

The Opening and Closing Ceremonies will be held at the Balewadi Stadium, which will also host competitions in Athletics, Chess, Contract Bridge, Carom and Football.

Table Tennis Hall will host Badminton and Table Tennis events, while Weightlifting venue will host Body Building, Basketball and Volleyball games.

Swimming and Tennis will be held at respective stadiums and Kabaddi will be played on the ground adjacent to the swimming pool.

Two sports-Cricket and Billiards-will be conducted at Infosys facility in Hinjewadi. Cricket matches will also be played at the Tata Motors Ground in Pimpri, which will also host the Cricket final.

2011-2012 Winner and runner-up teams:

Sport Winner Runners-up

Hockey South Zone West Zone

Football East Zone South Zone

Basketball South Zone North Zone

Cricket West Zone North Zone

Kabaddi South Zone West Zone

Volleyball South Zone East Zone

Contract Bridge South Zone East Zone (Group event)

East Zone South Zone (Pair event)

Prominent players to be in action:


Women: Anju Bobby George (Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2003, Padmashri 2004, Arjuna Award 2002, Silver Medal in IAAF World Athletics Championship Monte Carlo 2005 ), Mrudula K, Snehal Khaire, Urmila More, Debashri Mujumdar, V Hani, Pushpa Hemchand, Ajitha.

Men: Krishna Kumar Rane, M Vijay Kumar, P Fransis Sagayaraj, Sandeep Parmar, P Gopi, Avinash Vasishta, Arun Kumar Patel, Elangumaran, Pramod Tiwari.


Women: Abhilasha Das, Aasawari Parmar.

Men: Ranajoy Roy, Pankaj Pandey, K Singh, Suresh Sonawane (represented Indian team under 19 at All England Badminton meet).

Tennis: Jagdish Tanwar (Practicing member of Indian Davis Cup team, recipient of Maharana Pratap Award of Rajasthan Government), Laxmikant Tanwar, P Nagraj (National ranked player and Bronze medalist in the National Games in 1994), Manoj Kumar, Vijay Kumar.

Table Tennis:

Women: Mantu Murmu, Shilpa Joshi, Prgandha Pisal, Ranjana Patki(National Table Tennis Player), Mrudula Kulkarni.

Men: Sayan Paul Roy, H Bhat, Santanu Mujumdar, Sudhir Sant, Anil Nimbalkar.


Women: Prakriti Naskar, Aarti Vakil.

Men: Sanjoy N, Kiran Panditrao (Fide master).


Women: Swati Bhide, Bijoli Hazra.

Men: SR Dhonthula, S Jambhulkar, Manoj Tihade.


Women: Santana Kayal, Monica Mondol, Sayani Paul.

Men: TR Hariharan, KS Arul Kumar, Jitendra Khasnis.

Body Building: Rajendra Gaware, Sujoy Ghag, Vivek Bagewadi.

More from Sify: