Champions Trophy: Gambhir, Yuvi dropped

Last Updated: Wed, May 08, 2013 18:01 hrs

Indian cricketers Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh were on Saturday dropped from the Indian squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 which will be played in England and Wales in June.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) met at the Cricket Centre in Mumbai on Saturday to pick the 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

Pacers Irfan Pathan and Vinay Kumar have found their places in the squad along with Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav as they will shoulder the fast bowling responsibilities.

Selectors have added spinner Amit Mishra in the team. R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are the other two spinners in the squad.

Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma and Dinesh Karthik have been added in the MS Dhoni-led squad.

Wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Kartik was recalled in the One Day International (ODI) team after a gap of almost three years.

India will start their campaign in the Champions Trophy 2013 against South Africa at Cardiff on June 6.

The squad is as follows:


1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni Captain

2. Shikhar Dhawan

3. Virat Kohli

4. Suresh Raina

5. Dinesh Karthik

6. Murali Vijay

7. Rohit Sharma

8. Ravindra Jadeja

9. Ravichandran Ashwin

10. Irfan Pathan

11. Umesh Yadav

12. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

13. Ishant Sharma

14. Amit Mishra

15. Vinay Kumar

The Committee also picked 21 probables for the tri-series in the West Indies, which will follow the ICC Champions Trophy.

The fifteen members of the squad for the ICC Champions Trophy apart, the following six players were named:

Manoj Tiwary

Praveen Kumar

Mohammed Shami

Ambati Rayudu

Rahul Sharma

Gautam Gambhir

More from Sify: