Chandy, Chennithala, Murali in Congress list for Kerala

Last Updated: Tue, Mar 22, 2011 18:49 hrs
<span style="font-family: arial; font-size: 12px; white-space: pre-wrap; ">EVM</span>

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala Opposition leader and UDF's Chief Ministerial front runner Oommen Chandy, KPCC President Ramesh Chennithala and late leader K Karunakaran's son K Muraleedharan figure in the Congress list of 81 candidates for the April 13 assembly polls in the state.

The list, drawn up after marathon discussions in Delhi on Tuesday night and endorsed by the party high command, was released on Tuesday night.

Chandy will seek re-election from his home turf Puthupally in Kottayam and Chennithala will contest from Haripad in his home district of Alappuzha.

Muraleedharan, who was re-admitted to Congress recently after a five year gap, has been allotted Vattiyurkkav segment in the state capital.

Lathika Subhash, a woman leader from Kottayam, was chosen to fight Chief Minister V S Achuthanandan in CPI(M) bastion Malampuzha in Palakkad district.

According to party sources, the list has retained 23 sitting MLAs. It also includes several new faces, youth and women, as recommended by AICC general secretary Rahul Gandhi.

More from Sify: