Congress gains absolute majority in Karnataka

Source : ANI
Last Updated: Wed, May 08, 2013 12:40 hrs

The Congress Party on Wednesday returned to power in Karnataka with an absolute majority.

The party has crossed the magic number, winning 116 seats in the 224 Member Assembly out of 214 results declared so far. It is also leading in five other constituencies.

The BJP and JD(S) were in neck and neck race with both winning 40 seats each.

Former Karnataka chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa's Karnataka Janatha Party won six seats, while the Independents and others have won 16 seats.

Elections in one constituency - Periyapatna-was deferred to May 28 due to the death of the BJP candidate.

Prominent winners in the Assembly elections are: Congress leader Siddaramaiah, Chief Minister Jagdish Shettar of BJP, Janata Dal Secular State President, H.D. Kumaraswamy, KJP leader Yeddyurappa, former Union Minister and Kannada Cine Star, M.H.Ambareesh of Congress, Deputy Chief Minister and BJP candidate, R. Ashoka, BSR Congress Party Chief and former Minister, B. Sriramulu, Congress candidate Dr. Ajay Dharam Singh, son of former Chief Minister Dharam Singh, former Chief Minister S.Bangarappa's son Madhu Bangarappa of the JDS, Priyanka M. Kharge, daughter of Union Minister, Mallikarjun Kharge of Congress and former Union Minister V.Srinivasa Prasad of Congress. Sitting JD(S) MP N. Chaluvaraya Swamy has won.

The prominent losers were Deputy Chief Minister Eshwarappa of the BJP, KPCC President Dr. G. Parameshwara, former Union Minister C.M.Ibrahim and Anita Kumaraswamy.

BJP Ministers - S.A.Ramadas, V.Somanna, B.N.Bache Gowda, A. Narayanasamy and Murgesh Mirani all lost in the polls. KJP leaders Shoba Kharand Laje and Renuka Acharya have also lost in the hustling. (ANI with inputs)

More from Sify: