Counting begins in Nagaland

Last Updated: Thu, Feb 28, 2013 03:07 hrs

Kohima: Counting of votes for 59 of the 60 Assembly seats in Nagaland began at 8 AM today.

CEO Nagaland J Alam told PTI that counting is being held in 12 districts, including Pughoboto electoral district.

A total of 59 halls have been provided for counting in the districts with three-tier security layer in each.

Over 10,000 counting personnel, including counting supervisors and counting assistants, are engaged in the counting process along with micro observers and Election Commission appointed observers.

Among those whose electoral fortunes will be decided today are Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie, opposition leader Tokheho Yepthomi, state Congress President S I Jamir and former Home Minister Imkong L Imchen.

In consonance with an Election Commission directive, the international border has been sealed.

The entire process will be videographed, he said.

Polling in Tuensang sadar seat was countermanded following the death of Congress candidate and MLA P Chuba Chang just a day before the election on February 23.

More from Sify: