CT: India register easy win over Pakistan

Last Updated: Sat, Jun 15, 2013 20:23 hrs

In a rain-affected encounter, Indian cricketers performed brilliantly to beat Pakistan by eight wickets in the tenth match of the ICC Champions Trophy at Edgbaston here on Saturday.

Under the Duckworth/Lewis system for rain-affected matches, India needed to score 102 runs in 22 overs to win the match.

India reached the target of 102 by losing only two wickets and 17 balls to spare.

Earlier, Pakistan were all out for 165 in 39.4 overs.

Rohit Sharma (18) and Shikhar Dhawan gave India a good start as they posted 58 on the scorboard before Sharma was dismissed by Pakistani spinner Saeed Ajmal on the 11th over of the innings.

Dhawan continued his good show in the tournament and scored 48 runs off 41 balls. He hit five boundaries in his innings.

Dhawan and Virat Kohli added 20 runs in the second wicket partnership.

Dhawan in his bid to finish the match in a hurry lost his wicket to Wahab Riaz .

Kohli (22*) Dinesh Karthik(11*) played sensibly to help India reach the winning score without losing further wickets.

India, who have already booked their place in the semi-finals, won all their matches in the Group B of the tournament.

Earlier, Indian bowlers bowled brilliantly to restrict Pakistan to 165 in 39.4 overs in the last Group B match.

Kamran Akmal (21), Mohammad Hafeez (27), Misbah-ul-Haq (22) and Shoaib Malik (17) failed to convert their starts to big score.

Asad Shafiq top-scored for Pakistan with his 41.

Umar Amin remained unbeaten at 27.

Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up two wickets each.

India registered their first victory against Pakistan in the history of the tournament with this victory.

Pakistan lost all their matches in the tournament and will return home empty-handed.

India and South Africa qualified for the semi-finals from Group B.

Despite rains, thousands of fans from both sides reached the stadium to witness the clash between two Asian nations.

Brief scorecard:

Pakistan: 165 all out in 39.4 overs

Asad Shafiq 41

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/19

India: 102 for 2 in 19.1 overs

Shikhar Dhawan 48

Wahab Riaz 1/20

More from Sify: