Didi changes Trinamool candidate from Jorasanko

Last Updated: Fri, Mar 25, 2011 08:56 hrs
Mamata Banerjee unveils populist railway budget, ducks reform

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee on Friday replaced the party candidate for Jorasanko seat in the metropolis, a former BJP leader, though he was initially named in the list of TC nominees for coming West Bengal assembly polls.

"The Trinamool councilor in the Kolkata Municipal Corporation Smita Bakshi will now be the party candidate from Jorasanko in place of Shantilal Jain," Banerjee told reporters tonight.

Jain's name had figured in the list of TC candidates released last week. Dinesh Bajaj, a sitting Trinamool MLA, has not been given nomination from the seat again this time.

Asserting that Jain was changed for not keeping "good health", the Trinamool chief said with Bakshi's candidature, the women nominees of the party for 11 seats in Kolkata now went upto four.

More from Sify: